RATIONS 100 DAYS! #95

The stars are bright tonight, but that is just because the moon isn’t visible yet. Later tonight, I probably won’t be able to see many stars at all. It was that way last night, and as we get closer to Monday, the stars’ brilliance will only fade. A 2nd super moon is on its way.
 
October had a super moon. December will have another super moon. However – it is November’s super moon that holds a spot in the record books because it will be closer to the earth than normal. In fact, it hasn’t been this close since 1948.
 
God said.“Let there be lights in the expanse of the heavens to separate the day from the night. And let them be for signs and for seasons, and for days and years…”~Gen 1:14 Rabbi Yeshua repeated, “And there shall be signs in the sun, and in the moon, and in the stars…’~Lk 21:25
 
I get excited about such simple things. A huge moon above me. A drop of rain on the dogs’ coats. Tiny pink roses beside me as I type. Three bushes that I plopped in the ground today. They are the signs that Our Father’s love in everything He created. They are also a sign that something special just might lie ahead.
 
A star that shone 2000+ years ago was a sign. Many of us grew up with that little bit of history and never questioned it, but in reality, that star was noticed only by a few. It is hindsight that makes it so easy for us to see and accept.
 
I wonder if the people in Israel and the world noticed that super bright star? I’m sure they were busy with concerns of life, family, love, fear, war, occupation, the impoverished, the down trodden, the human slave trafficking, a ruler they don’t like- just like we are today. Did they shrug it off – justify it in their minds someway or another?
 
I guess it boils down to this, I I just don’t want to be like most of those people in Israel and the world who missed the sign that the Messiah had come to earth. I want to be the goose who lined the manger who her downy feathers – the shepherds who heard angels and didn’t run the other way – the wisemen who followed a star into the unknown in search of a king they did not know and to a country where they were strangers.
 
I want to be that person.
 
1942 Daily Ration: ” ‘I know thy works, that thou are neither cold nor hot; I would thou wert cold or hot.’~Rev 3:15
 
“To much of our Christian living can be summed up by stating the things we do not do. We don’t kill, lie, steal or commit a thousand other heinous crimes. With Marguerite Wilkinson we must describe our lives by saying:
 
‘“I never cut my neighbor’s throat;
My neighbor’s gold I never stole;
I never spoiled his house and land;
But God have mercy on my soul!
 
‘For I am haunted night and day
By all the deeds I have not done;
O unattempted loveliness!
O costly valor never won!
 
“All the deeds I have not done”– – -will that be our burden at the close of day? God grant that positive, forward-looking love may control us today, and that active, costly service may mask our living.
 
“Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man would come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and lollow me.’~Matt 16:24
 
“Read: John 12:1-8
 
“Prayer: We have not served Thee as we ought,
Alas, the duties left undone,
The work with little fervor wrought,
The battles lost or scarcely won!
Lord, give the zeal, and give the might,
For Thee to toil, for Thee to fight.”~’We have not known Thee as we ought’ by Thomas Pollack, 1889 [google images]
Leave a Reply

