RATIONS 100 DAYS! #97

Okay – this Ration has been sitting on my computer for 3 hours . I’ve read it at least 4 times I’ve eaten a really worthless but very good supper – enjoyed 1 long phone call with a friend – watched 1 Christmas movie and taken 2 romps with the girls…I don’t think I can stall any longer. I need to finish tonight’s ration before the computer loses it and I have to start all over.

Ooooo – I think I need some cheese and maybe some wine.

Noooooo – “Get behind me, Satan! You are a stumbling block to me; you do not have in mind the concerns of God, but merely human concerns.”~Matt 16:23

Imagine you are hearing a long deep breath, shuddering sigh because that is exactly what I just did.

Actually, I seem to have been saying that short little phrase “Get behind me, Satan” since I opened my eyes this morning.

“Stay in bed a little longer.” (Repeat above phrase here)

“You don’t have to do those stretches” (Repeat said phrase again)

“Go ahead, you can buy that. Put it on the card.” (You know what to do here)

Got it? It has been one of those days when I was not an “appreciator” as today’s Ration tells us. Instead of looking around and just enjoying every step of His day, I’ve whined and cried and mumbled about – the massive number of bikers taking up most of the road while I was trying to get to town – the long line at the grocery store – being monetarily poor at holiday time  – avoiding holiday craft shows- – –

Obviously, not an appreciator.

So I went back to the Ration. It said Read, so – I read.

“I thank my God every time I remember you. In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy …being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”~Phil 1:3-6

I definitely hadn’t done that today. Hmmmm…hmmm…hmmm…as my knees painfullly find the floor of my warroom, I know how to change this day around. Mumbled prayers for others and the peace returns – the love of the girls radiates their contentment and love through my closet doorway – a piece of wisdom filters through the foggy sin barrier and reminds me why Jesus was such an appreciator of each person he encountered – they were all His children – each and every one. So I pray on…

“And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ—to the glory and praise of God.”~Phil 1:9-11

1942 Daily Ration: ” ‘When Jesus saw him.’~John 5:6

“Read: Philippians 1:1-11

“Bishop William A. Quayle used to say to the pastors in this conference, ‘The world needs appreciators.’ By this he meant men and women who see beyond the unpromising surface of life into the depths, where capacities for beauty and goodness reveal themselves to the sympathetic eye.

“All great souls have been great appreciators, to be able to see only the debased and ugly is the mark of littleness. The men and women to whom Paul sends greetings in his letters were ‘ordinary people,’ so we would say. But Paul’s greatness as a Christian leader is largely found in the fact that he discovered possibilities of usefulness for the Kingdom in lives that appeared only mediocre.

“The greatest appreciator that ever lived was Jesus. He knew the evil that ever lived was Jesus. He knew the evil that was in man, and did not discount the power of sin. But he also saw beyond the offensive exterior to something nobler that might be. He was so sure that it would respond to the appeal of confident good will that he based his kingdom, not on force but on love. The closer we live to him, the more of the divine we shall see in our fellow men.

“Prayer: Touch our eyes and awaken our hearts, O Christ, that we may see in the people with whom we associate today the finer and nobler elements of life which lie beneath the surface. Amen. [google images]

Leave a Reply

