Advent Joy #1: Rejoice

Light shines on the righteous
and joy on the upright in heart. — Psalm 97:11

Christmas cards – check. Christmas decorations – check. Watching endless Christmas movies – check. Christmas shortbread cookies and listening to Christmas carols – check and check. 1st Christmas stocking almost complete – check. Fighting off a cold – ugh!!

I know, right? Talk about a downer to the start off my day. i was not a happy camper this morning. Pull out the oils, tissue box, favorite blanket and read the WORD. Somehow – even colds aren’t so bad when I force myself to stick to my devotional time.

And tonight I am rejoicing for I have banished said cold to the nether reaches of the universe. The nose has dimmed to a pale, sucked-on, candy cane pink. The scratchy throat a mere irritant in the memory banks. Cough non-existent and so I say: REJOICE, REJOICE…!

“And Mary said: “My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord;
my spirit REJOICES in God my savior.”~Lk 1:46-47

I love reading translations of Bible verse that lean heavily on Rabbinic interpretations. Today, I was reading about Psalm 97:11. The original Hebrew is translated: “Light is planted FOR the righteous…”

I love those little prepositions. When used in conjunction with the right verb the whole power of the verse shifts in a slightly, yet substantial, direction. Suddenly, I can envision a seed of light being planted every time I manage to make time to talk with a neighbor…When a child learns something new because I took time to show them why or how…when the WORD become buried in a picture of words for others to find…when the Hubby smiles before he closes his eyes to sleep…when my pups look at me with all this love and trust in their eyes…when Christmas becomes more than a season…I REJOICE and REJOICE and REJOICE

“There remains one way – – The Way – – untried, untested, unexplored fully……the way of Him Who was born a Babe in Bethlehem.” ~Peter Marshall, (p15)

Long ago a seed of Light was planted for us. A seed of Light that started a whole new garden. Just think, if we keep adding to that garden, imagine what that garden could look like when Christ returns for His bride. It would really be time to REJOICE then. Perhaps today – perhaps tomorrow…[google images]

Leave a Reply

