PHONE HOME

New Year’s Eve 2016

Way back when, before cell phones ruled the world, I would – no matter where I was – find a way to be like E.T. I would phone home. Party years. Baby years. Senior years. Phoning home with shrimp in one hand and trail bologna in the other. Phone home. I would love to be able to phone home one more time this New Year’s Eve.

“I will give you the treasures of darkness, riches stored in secret places, so that you may know that I am the LORD, the God of Israel, who summons you by name.” ~Is 45:3

So – – – since I can’t phone home, I’ve been reading, crocheting, watching fun movies and preparing for the New Year. God’s promises change lives. It changed the total direction of my life on a New Year’s Eve long ago.

There was no social media to record the event in time. No prompting that pops up in the feed line to kick start the memory banks. And yet – the memory tends to surface every New Year’s Eve, and I find myself looking up with a smile on my face.

In the middle of a crowded party. In the middle of a song. In the middle of a movie. In the middle of my recliner – all by myself. It doesn’t matter. This verse, drifting in and out of my life at the most critical times, encircles me once again, and I want to phone home.

“Treasures stored in darkness…” Air kiss my father one last time before I go to sing; his voice in my ear saying, “Be safe. Bring down the house”. My mother’s voice toasting me across the phone line; her glass clinking the phone as did mine. “Riches stored in secret places…”

E.T. had the right idea. The neat thing – I don’t have to have a phone to call home. The treasures and the riches are stored right there waiting for me. All I have to do is remember to allow the Light to shine in the darkness. No matter what the New Year of 2017 holds for all of us, God has promised and summons us by name.

Blessings!Be! in 2017.happy-new-year-2017

Leave a Reply

