HALLELU-YAH

It has been a busy blessed 7 days, yet the days of destruction are still not done. Eleven trees down and one half-way down. Several piles of chipping remain. Massive logs wait for the skid loader to pick them up once again and load them on a trailer to their last destination.

Usually when my life path journeys through a week like this, I just catch a deep breath, put my head down and barrel through it. During my school years, the weeks I graded autobiographies used to be like this. Lots of prayer. Lots of work. Lots of joy in the accomplishment.
Where each day felt like a basket of blessings, and I couldn’t wait to open my eyes each morning.

This was somewhat different. I have a very hard time agreeing to cut down trees. The Hubby and I have been arguing over which ones since we moved here. Trees stir my soul with their strength, their depth in seeking nourishment, their stretching towards the Father in praise, and their prominent place in His-story.

“The LORD God made all sorts of trees grow up from the ground—trees that were beautiful and that produced delicious fruit. In the middle of the garden he placed the tree of life and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.”~Gen 2:9

So – as much as I know it had to be done because some were sick and others too close to the house – cutting down trees was the hardest part of this past week. I comforted myself by thinking about the new trees I will be able to plant once we are able to walk the ground and see the light patterns.

Today was the first day I have actually walked the land sans trees. It is still rough with stumps waiting to be ground – the Hubby has a bit of work ahead of him in the next few days. I moved some stones, picked up some left over brush and added more piles for the chipper. If we get a place with enough sun, maybe I can add a fruit tree or two. We probably won’t be here long enough to see the beauty of the trees filling out and becoming all that they can be, but it is something I have always done.

Cut a tree. Plant a tree.

The Grands said they would help me this summer, so that is another thing to look forward to doing. 12 trees to plant. A couple Rosebuds. Another magnolia. A couple of NC pines. A buckeye as a tribute to home. Maybe a pecan…hmmm…never had a pecan tree – now that might be fun.

Just before the destruction days started, I found a black walnut lying right in front of me with no walnut tree in sight. I laughed. You see, when i was growing up in Blacktown, one of my jobs was to put on gloves and collect all the walnuts that fell in the yard. I would carry them to the driveway where the car would roll over them – smashing the hull enough that the fruit could be harvested without staining the fingers. Then in the winter, Grandma Mac would then make all sorts of tasty treats.

Mom and dad are not any more subtle than our Triune Father these days, so still laughing I picked it up and immediately planted it where I knew it would flourish – beside our massive rock that I will paint this summer with our land’s covenant name and the bible verse we always use.

As much as I hate cutting trees, I know what I know what I know. God’s hand has been guiding this. A black walnut – dried and ready to plant. 12 trees that needed to be cut. 12 trees that need to be planted. A garden to tend. A God wink from the parents. And two happy puppies rolling in the messy red dirt – and leaves – and digging for grubs.

Today as I walked the land, geese flew overhead towards the north. A chicken hawk’s cries echoed between the remaining trees. And I watched the tinier birds return to the feeders that have been disturbed for the past few days.

In Hebrew, the word for praise is Hallelu. Yah is the word for God. Today was definitely a day for Hallelu-Yah.

“May the glory of the Lord endure forever.
May the Lord find joy in what he has made…
He looks at the earth, and it trembles.
He touches the mountains, and they smoke.
I will sing to the Lord throughout my life.
I will make music to praise my God as long as I live.
May my thoughts be pleasing to Him.
I will find joy in the Lord.
May sinners vanish from the world.
May there no longer be any wicked people.
Praise the Lord, my soul!
Hallelujah!”~Ps 104:31-35

Leave a Reply

