IRISH BLESSING

While Hubby has been enjoying March Madness and a Cavaliers game all on the same night and on his TV, peace reigns in our house because I have been enjoying myself right beside him.

No – I have not crossed over to the dark side. I just have not been paying any attention whatsoever to the games. Although, I loved playing basketball in high school – let’s not mention that whole guards can’t cross the mid-point line – watching multiple games, switching from channel to channel, is just not a thrilling night on TV.

However, since Hubby and I often go our separate ways during the day, I don’t really want to move to another room. If I sit in the same room, I will occasionally notice a play (when he groans or shouts some inane comment) and start to laugh and talk. It’s what marriage is all about, right? After all he watched lots of Christmas movies a couple months back, so it’s only fair.

Most of the time, my earphones are on and I’m listening to a pod cast on Jewish tradition, a sermon from my favorite preacher or whatever music I pull up on my immense library stored on my computer. Sometimes, I wonder why I ever have the TV on because I am quite content to just listen to my music and write some thoughts down.

“Grace, mercy and peace from God Our Father and The Messiah Yeshua, Our Lord.”~1 Tim 1:2

Tonight’s lesson centered on the three gifts that Our Father gives us whenever we seek him in our crazy lives. Grace over sin – Mercy over judgement – Peace over all His people. Can’t argue with that. Don’t want to argue with that. Instead I just sing along with my music and try not to sing louder than the TV, but sometimes I forget and Hubby rolls his eyes and turns up the volume. Oh well. When Reba sings “Oh How I love Jesus”, how can you not sing along?

Actually, it was as Hubby’s eyes were growing heavy and puppy was cutting farts under my feet, that The Moses Hogan Choral started singing, “Ride on King Jesus” that my feet really started going as well. Something about spirituals that just get inside of you and make you want to move. Last year, I started singing in a gospel choir, and I loved it. Unfortunately, it disbanded this year due to lack of consistency on the choir’s part. So now I am just back to singing in my chair – or kitchen – or outdoors – or – well – anywhere with my music playing in my ear.

Shouldn’t have surprised me that as I was yawning and preparing to shut the laptop down, that one of my favorite benedictions came across digitally. I sang this song in high school. My children sang it in their youth choir. And here it was – singing me to sleep. So since, tomorrow is St. Patrick’s Day, I thought I’d better remind everyone before the partying starts, that this day bears the name of a Saint for a reason. He brought blessings to his community (if not to the snakes) and lived 1 Timothy 1:2 to the fullest.

Grace over sin – Mercy over judgement – Peace over all His people.

Have a Happy St. Patrick’s Day and

“May the road rise to meet you,
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
The rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of his hand.
May God be with you and bless you:
May you see your children’s children.
May you be poor in misfortune,
Rich in blessings.
May you know nothing but happiness
From this day forward.”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_SbKWXTsItc

Leave a Reply

