Daily Archives: November 26, 2014

Attitude of Gratitude #25

Attitude of Gratitude #25: Smiles. Have you ever counted all the smiley faces that you encounter throughout one day in our world of technology? Does anyone really write anything without emoticons? I tried counting one time, and lost count after 100. It’s a scary world where we have to draw pictures that reflect our emotions. That’s why I am thankful for smiles…real smiles…smiles of my family…smiles of children…smiles of my dogs…smiles of the people that I pass on the street…smiles of the Trinity as I say my prayers…

Today, most of the kids at school were smiling ear-to-ear. No homework. No school. No grumpy staff. Just smiles. One second grader was so happy, she ran across the room and jumped in her mama’s arms, making them both smile, not to mention, the whole room that was watching.  Smiles are infectious., and I love days like this. Long time ago, I realized that smiles started in the mind. Once that choice was made, the smile reached my heart which warmed the smile as it progressed to my mouth and eyes. The neat thing about smiles is that as they pass into our lives, they also pass into the lives of those around you.

For awhile now, smiles seem to be harder to find. People are worried about so many things… the shakey economy…the political unease…the wars – foriegn and domestic…the tensions that seem to be mounting every day. It is good to fall back on the WORD in times like these:

“For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” 2 Cor 10:3-5

When I remember this verse, I smile. It starts in my mind – goes to my heart – and radiates up through my mouth and eyes to pass out into the world that is waiting for a little sign of hope. That is why I’m for smiles tonight.

(google images)