Daily Archives: November 17, 2016

Because of Christmas #1: Quinky Dink

Several weeks ago, I bought a book. Nothing new there. Hubby has this tendency to pull me a little faster and in another direction if he sees a bookstore before I do. What can I say? I can get lost in a bookstore – not to mention – spend more than a few of those hard earned dollars when I finally find my way to the door.
The book was the new Max Lucado book, Because pf Bethlehem. No surprise there either because I love reading his books. This is one author who tells a story almost as well as I think Rabbi Yeshua must have told his. Did you ever get the feeling that none of Christ’s followers fell asleep listening to his sermons?
“The people who are walking in darkness Have seen a great light, Dwellers in a land of death-shade, Light hath shone upon them.”~Is 9:2download
So much for staying on topic. Where was I? Oh yes, I bought the book. It had a pretty red Christmas tree on the front of it, so I figured after the ugly reality these past few months, I needed a book that would speak faith, hope and love (1 Cor 13:13)a little louder in my earthly ears. It worked.
Eyes blink. Quinky-dink. God wink moment hits.
Guess how many chapters that book has? 12
Guess how many days there are before Advent begins? 12
Guess who is reading a new book for the next 12 days – yupper – THIS GIRL!
When I got up this morning, I wasn’t sure what I direction the day was going to take. There are Christmas presents to make, Christmas cards to work on (since no one has our new address, I really need to send them early) Christmas stockings to embroider, plants to move and replant, dogs to play with, piano to play, books to read, writing to do, grocery shopping – – – however, if I am wise, I enter my war room and start the day right by opening His WORD.
It gives me direction. It reminds me that my Father made me and breathed into my nostrils the breath of life. That His name is Immanuel, ‘God with us’. His WORD echoes his presence by reminding us that He sent his Son; a Son who breathed the same air we breath…walked the rocky paths and stubbed His toes like all of us…loved creation enough to bare the sins of the world that we might have Grace…loves us still by promising to return for us.
It is November 16th, and I’m so thankful for a light in the darkness, a new journey with Immanuel. Can’t wait to see what the light illuminates a long the way.549463691_1280x720